Back to the photo gallery

Sigma Xi HeadquartersMcGill-Montréal Chapter (1921)


Sigma Xi Excellence in Undergraduate
Research Awards Ceremony

June 3rd, 2005

The Sigma Xi Excellence in Undergraduate Research Award is granted
to outstanding young researchers in the
Faculties of Science, Engineering and Agricultural and Environmental Sciences. Each Department from these three

Faculties may nominate one undergraduate student who, in the judgment of the Department, has excelled in research.

The award consists of a one year membership in Sigma Xi including a subscription to the excellent magazine
American Scientist .

The McGill-Montreal Chapter of Sigma Xi is grateful to the Deans and Associate Deans of the Faculty of
Science, the Faculty of Engineering and the Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences who have
provided financial support for this award.

Congratulations to the 2005 winners!



Award Recipient

Research Supervisor

Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Science

Plant Science

Patrick Cournoyer

Dr. Marc Fortin

Faculty of Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Sebastien Beaulieu-Bergeron


Jason Tavares

Dr. Phillip Servio


Dr. Sylvain Coulombe

Civil Engineering

Chantale Cardinal-Watkins

Dr. James Nicell

Metals and Materials Engineering


Lindsay Rowland


Dr. James Finch

Faculty of Science

Anatomy and Cell Biology

Véronique Kéna-Cohen

Dr. Alfredo Ribeiro-da-Salva

Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences

Blaise Gauvin St-Denis

Dr. John Gyakum


Denise Cook

Dr. Karine Auclair


Lauren Lapointe-Shaw

Dr. John Hanrahan (physiology)


Dr. Robert Levine (Biology)


Colin Harvey


Chung Shing Kwok

Dr. Nicolas Moitessier


Dr. Adi Eisenberg

Earth and Planetary Science

Jeffrey Larocque



Michael Wironen

Dr. Tim Moore


Marco Carone

Dr. Masoud Asgharian

Microbiology and Immunology

Jennifer Slon

Dr. Hervé  Le Moual


Francis-Yan Cyr-Racine

Dr.  Raymond Laflamme

University of Waterloo
and the Institute for Quantum Computing


Erin Lieberman

Dr. Anne-Marie Lauzon


Thien Kim Nguyen

Dr. Barbel Knauper



President Cameron, Past-president Wilczek, 2nd Vice-president Yelon 
Signing of the Book
Michael Wironen
Patrick Cournoyer
Thien Kim Nguyen
Shing Kwok and Colin Harvey
The 2005 Award Winners












Canadian Interdisciplinary Research Society: Sigma Xi