Back to the photo gallery

Sigma Xi HeadquartersMcGill-Montréal Chapter (1921)


Sigma Xi Excellence in Undergraduate
Research Awards Ceremony 2006

June 3rd, 2006

The Sigma Xi Excellence in Undergraduate Research Award is granted
to outstanding young researchers in the
Faculties of Science, Engineering and Agricultural and Environmental Sciences. Each Department from these three

Faculties may nominate one undergraduate student who, in the judgment of the Department, has excelled in research.

The award consists of a one year membership in Sigma Xi including a subscription to the excellent magazine
American Scientist .

The McGill-Montreal Chapter of Sigma Xi is grateful to the Deans and Associate Deans of the Faculty of
Science, the Faculty of Engineering and the Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences who have
provided financial support for this award.

Congratulations to the 2006 winners! 


Award Recipient



Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Science

Bioresource Engineering Samuel Pearsall Price  
Plant Science Vicky Berube  

Dietetics and Human Nutrition

Vanessa Tardio



Faculty of Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Aurelie Tanguy

Mu Wang

Nadia Afara

Sandra Robaire


Metals and Materials Engineering

Alan Lai 



Faculty of Science

Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences

Gabrielle Gascon



Denise Cook



Christopher Von roretz



Eric Norman Zimanyi


Earth and Planetary Science

Michelle Deakin



Sarah Verreault



Leonid Chindelevitch


Microbiology and Immunology

Stephen Gowing



Dominique Laroche



Christopher Lee



Ryan Pulleyblank



Dr. Juan Vera, president of McGill-Montreal
Chapter of Sigma Xi, addresses the award winners
and families at the inaugural ceremony.

Dr. M. A. Whitehead, Director Canadian and
International Constituency Group, handing the awards for excellence in undergraduate research to students.

Recipients of the Sigma Xi undergraduate research awards.


Dr. David M. Ronis congratulates his undergraduate research student Eric N. Zimanyi.